## AAS HISTORICAL ASTRONOMY DIVISION ANNUAL REPORT FOR 2016/2017

### Patrick Seitzer, Chair

### Membership

HAD had 320 active members (including 25 affiliate members) at the end of the 2016 calendar year. Of that total, 96 had emeritus status and 8 were Junior members. We have one AAS Patron (Irene Osterbrock).

### **Officers**

The officers for calendar year 2016 were Marc Rothenberg (National Science Foundation), Chair; Patrick Seitzer (University of Michigan), Vice Chair; and Jay Holberg (University of Arizona), Secretary-Treasurer. The HAD Committee members-at-large were Brenda Corbin (U.S. Naval Observatory) and Linda French (Illinois Wesleyan University). Jay Pasachoff (Williams College) served on the committee as Past Chair.

Jay Holberg resigned as Secretary-Treasurer, and was replaced by Kenneth Rumstay (Valdosta State University).

Elections for new officers were held during 2016, and they took office at the January 2017 AAS meeting. Alan Hirshfeld (University of Massachusetts Dartmouth) was elected the new Vice-Chair. The new HAD Committee members-at-large were Robert Stencel (Denver University) and Pedro Raposo (Adler Planetarium).

#### Finances

As of 2016 December 31, balances for the three HAD accounts were as follows: General Account: \$20,543 Leroy E. Doggett Prize Fund: \$37,234 Donald E. Osterbrock Book Prize Fund: \$24,852

#### Meetings

At the January 2017 AAS meeting in Grapevine fourteen oral presentations were given in three oral sessions on Tuesday and Wednesday, and seven posters were up on Wednesday.

The first oral session was dedicated to the presentation of the Osterbrock book prize to Thomas Hockey for the *Biographical Encyclopedia of Astronomers (2nd edition)*. A second oral session was dedicated to *Infrared Astronomy from above the Atmosphere* organized by Martin Harwit, and with speakers Judith Pipher, Martin Harwit, and Edwin Erikson.

At the HAD business meeting the new HAD Committee was installed.

#### **Publications**

The newsletter of the Historical Astronomy Division, HAD News, is published online in April and

October of each year. The April 2016 issue (#87) and the October 2016 issue (#88) were prepared under the supervision of HAD Secretary-Treasurer Ken Rumstay.

# Prizes

HAD has two endowed prizes. The Leroy E. Doggett Prize is given in even years to recognize lifetime achievement. The Donald E. Osterbrock Book Prize, given in odd years, recognizes the best book published in the history of astronomy during a three-year period. The recipient of the 2016 Doggett Prize was Albert van Helden. The 2017 Osterbrock Book Prize was awarded to Thomas Hockey for *Biographical Encyclopedia of Astronomers (2nd edition)*. The HAD Prize Committee has selected Sara Schechner as the eleventh recipient of the LeRoy E. Doggett Prize for Historical Astronomy; she will be recognized at the January 2018 AAS meeting.

## **Obituary Committee**

The Historical Astronomy Division is responsible for the preparation of memorials to deceased members of the American Astronomical Society. Recently member deaths are promulgated on the AAS electronic newsletter. Obituaries are available on the HAD website and are deposited in the archives of the American Institute of Physics. For further information, please see the attached report of the HAD Vice Chair Alan Hirshfeld.

## AstroGen

Although the Astronomy Genealogy Project, spearheaded by Joseph Tenn, is not an official activity of HAD, it is an effort which HAD believes is quite valuable. AstroGen will list as many as possible of the world's astronomers with their academic parents (thesis advisors); currently there are over 5500 entries.

Submitted 2017 May 16 by Patrick Seitzer, Chair, AAS Historical Astronomy Division, University of Michigan, *pseitzer@umich.edu*